## Further explanation of the list of foreign territories where per diem allowances are paid

Armenia: The region of Nagorno-Karabakh is among 'Other countries, not specified'.

**Argentina**: Argentina is comprised of mainland Argentina and its islands in the immediate vicinity, excluding the Falkland Islands.

**Australia**: Australia is comprised of continental Australia and Tasmania and the islands in the immediate vicinity. However, other territories belonging to Australia that have not been specified are considered among 'Other countries, not specified'.

**Azerbaidzhan**: The region of Nagorno-Karabakh is among 'Other countries, not specified'. **Bosnia and Herzegovina** is comprised of all the administrative regions or constituent peoples within it.

**Chile**: Chile is comprised of mainland Chile and its islands in the immediate vicinity. However, Easter Islands are among 'Other countries, not specified'.

**Cyprus**: The regions or districts of Cyprus that are part of the EU are included. The Turkish Cyprus is part of Turkey.

**Denmark** comprises its mainland, its archipelago and the island of Bornholm. Any other territories that belong to Denmark are among 'Other countries, not specified'. However, the list does specify Greenland and the Faroe Islands.

Ecuador includes Ecuador and the Galapagos Islands.

**France**: The hexagone of France with Corsica and the islands in its immediate vicinity are treated as France. The départments and territories of the Overseas France are among 'Other countries, not specified'.

**Georgia** includes the regions generally recognized as part of Georgia. Thus, Abhasia and South Ossetia are among 'Other countries, not specified'.

**Guyana**: Guyana (British) is not to be confused with French Guyana which is among 'Other countries, not specified'.

**Italy**: Italy includes the mainland, Sicily and Sardinia and the islands in the immediate vicinity. The Vatican State is considered part of Italy.

**Macedonia**: Macedonia is comprised of the former Yugoslavian republic of Macedonia. There also is an administrative region called Macedonia in Greece.

Moldova: Moldova also includes the Transnistrian breakaway territory.

**The Netherlands** comprises the mainland territory of Holland/The Netherlands. All other territories that belong to Holland or the Netherlands are among 'Other countries, not specified'.

**New Zealand**: Its territory comprises its (two) main islands and the islands in the immediate vicinity. Any other territories that belong to New Zealand are among 'Other countries, not specified'. **Norway** includes the Lofoten Islands and the other islands and territories in the vicinity of mainland Norway. However, other Norwegian territories such as Svalbard-Spitzbergen and Jan Mayen are among 'Other countries, not specified'.

**Palestinian territory**: The separate regions or territories in the Israeli geographic area known as the Palestinian semi-autonomous region.

**Portugal** is the mainland Portugal and the islands in the immediate vicinity excluding Madeira and the Azores. All other territories that belong to Portugal are among 'Other countries, not specified'. **Sweden**: The islands called Gotland and Öland and other Swedish islands in the immediate vicinity of mainland Sweden.

Serbia comprises Serbia and Voivodina but not Kosovo and other Serb republics.

**Spain** includes the mainland and the territories of Ceuta and Melilla and the Spanish islands in the vicinity of the mainland i.e. Mallorca, Menorca, Ibiza etc. However, other territories belonging to Spain are among 'Other countries, not specified'.

Turkey: The Turkish part of the island of Cyprus is treated as part of Turkey.

**The United Kingdom**: England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland and the islands of the British Isles such as the Channel Islands Jersey, Guernsey etc. and the Isle of Man are included. All other territories that belong to the United Kingdom are among 'Other countries, not specified'.

**The Russian Federation**: Includes the territories of Russia with Kaliningrad, and its territories in the immediate vicinity such as the islands Novaya Zemlya, the Kuril Islands belonging to Russia, and the peninsula of Kamchatka.

Svalbard-Spitzbergen is 'Other countries, not specified'.

**The United States** comprises the contiguous U.S. states with Alaska and Hawaii and the islands in the immediate vicinity. Other U.S. territories such as Guam, Okinawa, American Samoa are 'Other countries, not specified'.

**Virgin Islands** (British) are considered among 'Other countries, not specified', not as part of Virgin Islands (U.S.).

**'Other countries, not specified'**: This group includes a number of independent sovereign states that are members of the UN, such as Kiribati, Nauru, Tuvalu and the Republic of Equatorial Guinea. Typically it includes islands and other territories of distant location from their mainland country such as Sint Maarten, Gibraltar, Western Sahara, Réunion, Polynésie (Tahiti), New Caledonia, Pitcairn and Turks and Caicos Islands. See the references to 'Other countries, not specified' on this page.

## Moreover:

The South Pole i.e. the Antarctic is among 'Other countries, not specified'.

**Military bases** of a number of countries and the administrative zones of a number of organisations where entry is prohibited for ordinary citizens are among 'Other countries, not specified'.

Where cities have been mentioned by name under **United Kingdom, China, Turkey, Russian Federation and the United States** the reference is strictly to the areas inside the administrative city limits such as Greater London in the case of London, thus excluding the suburbs of the city concerned such as the London suburbs of Watford etc. and thus including the City of Los Angeles and excluding its surrounding areas in L.A. County.